Skip to main content

First Responders Suicide Deterrence
Task Force

Graphic with textual content reading Did you know? Suicide is complex for #Science2StopSuicide from American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

The First Responders Suicide Deterrence Task Force is charged with making recommendations on how to reduce the incidence of suicide and attempted suicide among employed or retired first responders in the state. The Task Force will identify and make recommendations on developing training programs and materials that would better enable first responders to cope with personal life stressors and stress related to their profession and foster a culture that:

  1. Promotes mutual support and solidarity among active and retired first responders
  2. Trains agency supervisors and managers to identify suicidal risk among active and retired first responders
  3. Improves the use and awareness of existing resources among active and retired first responders
  4. Educates active and retired first responders on suicide awareness and help-seeking

The Task Force meets on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month at 2pm. Meetings are open to the public.

Meeting Information


December 18, 2020

January 12, 2021

January 26, 2021

February 9, 2021

March 16, 2021

March 30, 2021

April 13, 2021

April 27, 2021

May 11, 2021

May 25, 2021

June 8, 2021

June 22, 2021

Meeting link:

Meeting ID: 926 0114 3726

Dial in by your location

        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

        +1 929 205 6099 US (New York)

        +1 301 715 8592 US (Washington D.C)

        +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

        +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)

        +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

Please contact Anna Gai at for copies of meeting agendas and minutes.

Task Force Member List


Appointed Official

1.    Florida Professional Firefighters’ Association

Mike Salzano

2.    Florida Police Benevolent Association

Michael “Mick” McHale

3.    Florida State Lodge of the Fraternal Order of Police

Mike Tucker

4.    Florida Sheriffs Association

Matt Dunagan

Allie McNair

5.    Florida Police Chiefs Association

Chief Charles Vazquez

6.    Florida Fire Chiefs Association


Non-voting members


7.    Statewide Office for Suicide Prevention

Anna Gai

8.    Florida Department of Law Enforcement

Matt Walsh

9.    Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

Major Joseph “Cory” Harrison

10.  Retired Firefighter

Ryan Gallik

11.  Miami Gardens Police Department

Tim Adams, Michael Dillon, and Sam Espinosa

12.  St. Petersburg College

Mary VanHaute

13.  Florida Division of Emergency Management

Darcy Abbott

14.  LSF Health Systems

Scott Swanstrom

15.  2nd Alarm Project

Kellie O’Dare

Lance Butler