DCF Press Release

State of Florida
Department of Children and Families
Charlie Crist

Robert A. Butterworth

August 28, 2007 850-488-5394

Governor Crist Appoints Children’s Cabinet

~ Lt. Governor Kottkamp will serve as chairman ~

TALLAHASSEE - Governor Charlie Crist today announced appointments to the Children and Youth Cabinet and designated Lt. Governor Jeff Kottkamp to serve as chairman. Bill sponsors Senator Nan Rich (D-Sunrise) and Representative Loranne Ausley (D-Tallahassee) joined Governor Crist and Lt. Governor Kottkamp for the announcement.

"I am grateful to the outstanding public servants appointed today for taking the time to serve Florida’s most vulnerable citizens,” said Governor Crist. “Under the leadership of Lt. Governor Kottkamp, the Children’s Cabinet will coordinate state agencies and programs that deliver children’s services.”  

Governor Crist signed House Bill 509 earlier this year, creating the Children and Youth Cabinet as a council within the Executive Office of the Governor. The cabinet is charged with developing a strategic plan to promote collaboration, creativity, increased efficiency, information sharing, and improved service delivery between and within state agencies and organizations. Members will meet six times a year in different regions of the state in an open, public forum. The Governor and the Florida Legislature will receive an annual report detailing the cabinet’s progress.

“Children are our highest priority and we will work to ensure that important programs are planned and delivered as comprehensively and effectively as possible,” said Lt. Governor Kottkamp. “By streamlining the distribution of critical services we can keep our children’s best interests paramount.”

The Children and Youth Cabinet consists of 15 members. Appointments to the Children and Youth Cabinet announced today are as follows:

  • Lt. Governor Jeff Kottkamp
  • Secretary Bob Butterworth, Department of Children and Families
  • Secretary Walt McNeil, Department of Juvenile Justice
  • Secretary Andrew Agwunobi, Agency for Health Care Administration
  • Director Jane Johnson, Agency for Persons with Disabilities
  • Director Monesia Brown, Agency for Workforce Innovation
  • State Surgeon General Ana Viamonte Ros, Department of Health
  • Commissioner Jeanine Blomberg, Department of Education
  • Angela Orkin, Director of the Guardian Ad Litem Office
  • Jim Kallinger, Chief Child Advocate
  • Judy Schaechter, physician and professor at the University of Miami, Mailman Center for Child Development
  • David Lawrence Jr., President of the Early Childhood Initiative Foundation at the University of Florida
  • Donna Gay Lancaster, Executive Director of the Juvenile Welfare Board of Children’s Services
  • Antonia Crawford, Chairman of the Early Learning Coalition
  • Dick Batchelor, President of Dick Batchelor Management Group Ex officio members include the following:
  • President Ken Pruitt, Florida Senate
  • Speaker Marco Rubio, Florida House of Representatives
  • Chief Justice Fred Lewis, Florida Supreme Court
  • Attorney General Bill McCollum
  • Chief Financial Officer Alex Sink


Copyright© 2010 State Of Florida The Official Logo of the Florida Department of Children and Families
Privacy Statement
Please report any problems with this site to the Webmaster.