

# Commission on Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder Access to Care Sub-Committee

#### Members

Jay Reeve, PhD Chair

Representative Christine Hunschofsky Co-Chair Speaker of the House Appointee

Senator Darryl Rouson President of the Senate Appointee

Clara Reynolds Governor Appointee

Ann Berner Speaker of the House Appointee

Richard Duggan President of the Senate

Sheriff William Prummell Governor Appointee

Dr. Kathleen Moore President of the Senate Appointee

Dr. Kelly Gray-Eurom Governor Appointee

Larry Rein Governor Appointee

Chief Judge Mark Mahon Governor Appointee

Melissa Larkin-Skinner Speaker of the House Appointee

Lee Fox President of the Senate Appointee

Shawn Salamida Speaker of the House Appointee

Secretary Shevaun Harris Florida Department of Children and Families

Secretary Jason Weida Florida Agency for Health Care Administration

Dr. Uma Suryadevara Speaker of the House Appointee

Richard Weisberg President of the Senate Appointee

# **Meeting Minutes**

February 27, 2024 2:30 pm – 3:30 pm Virtual Meeting via Microsoft Teams

## Welcome/Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 2:30 pm by Commissioner Reynolds, Subcommittee Chair.
Roll call was taken by Aaron Platt.

# The following members or designees were in attendance

Clara Reynolds, Subcommittee Chair
Dr. Jay Reeve, Commission Chair (Governor Appointee)
William Prummell, (Governor Appointee)
Lee Fox, (President of the Senate Appointee)
Austin Noll, Subject Matter Expert
John Mikula, Subject Matter Expert
Amy McClellan, Subject Matter Expert
Michael Martin, Subject Matter Expert
Jennifer Johnson, Subject Matter Expert
Alexandra Martinez, Subject Matter Expert
Kenneth Gibson, Subject Matter Expert
Gayle Giese, Subject Matter Expert
Trinity Schwab, Subject Matter Expert
Melissa Leslie, Subject Matter Expert

#### Introductions

Commissioner Reynolds reviewed the history of how this subcommittee was formed. All Commissioners and Subject Matter Experts (SME) introduced themselves and briefly discussed their experience in the behavioral health arena.

#### **Remarks From the Chair**

Commission Chair Reeve reviewed the Access to Care subcommittee charge. Chair Reeve briefly reviewed Florida's Sunshine law along with the role of Commissioners and Subject Matter Experts. Chair Reeve discussed the formation of workgroups composed mainly of Subject Matter Experts. SME's are permitted to meet outside of publicly noticed meetings as long as their research is brought back to Commissioners for decision making.

### **Discussion**

Commissioner Reynolds shared her vision for how the subcommittee will move forward to accomplish the charge. Subcommittee recommendations must be drafted by the in-person commission meeting in late August 2024. Commissioner Reynolds developed three buckets/subgroups for which the subcommittee will focus efforts and identified three "Champions" to lead each bucket/subgroup.



# Commission on Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder Access to Care Sub-Committee

The three subgroups and their Champions are:

- Identify and address barriers to utilization: Gayle Giese and Commissioner Fox
- Develop solutions to the barriers and refine marketing strategies: Kenneth Gibson and possibly Commissioner Fox
- Develop options outside of law enforcement transports: Commissioner Prummell and John Mikula

Each Champion will report out monthly and Commissioner Reynolds will update the full Commission.

## **Public Comment**

No public comment

# **Closing Remarks**

Subcommittee Chair Reynolds provided closing remarks

# Adjournment

Meeting adjourned approximately 3:21 pm.